About the AJGA

Return to blog

The AJGA is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to the overall growth and development of young men and women who aspire to earn college golf scholarships through competitive junior golf.

Junior Membership: More than 6,400

Full-Time Staff: 61

Intern Staff: Approximately 70 interns assist the full-time staff each spring and summer on the road. Additionally, about five interns assist in-house.

National Sponsor: Titleist

Premier Partners: Rolex and Ralph Lauren

National Chairmen: Hunter Mahan and Annika Sorenstam

Chairman of the Board: Jordan R. “Digger” Smith

Executive Director: Stephen Hamblin

Tournaments in 2015: 113

First National Tournament Conducted: 1978 (Tournament of Champions, Inverrary Country Club, Lauderhill, Fla.)

National Headquarters: The AJGA National Headquarters is located at Chateau Elan Resort in Braselton, Ga.

Tour Success: More than 300 AJGA alumni play on the PGA and LPGA Tours and have earned more than 600 Tour victories.

AJGA alumni on the PGA TOUR include: Keegan Bradley, Stewart Cink, Jason Dufner, Harris English, Bob Estes, Rickie Fowler, Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia, Lucas Glover, Bill Haas, Russell Henley, Morgan Hoffmann, J.B. Holmes, Charles Howell III, Matt Kuchar, Dustin Johnson, Zach Johnson, Justin Leonard, Davis Love III, Hunter Mahan, Steve Marino, Phil Mickelson, Ryan Moore, Sean O’Hair, Jeff Overton, Patrick Reed, Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, Jordan Spieth, Scott Stallings, David Toms, Bubba Watson, Mark Wilson, Gary Woodland, Tiger Woods and Scott Verplank.

AJGA alumnae on the LPGA Tour include: Paula Creamer, Katie Futcher, Julieta Granada, Pat Hurst, Vicky Hurst, Jennifer Johnson, Moriya Jutanugarn, Cristie Kerr, I.K. Kim, Brittany Lang, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Paige Mackenzie, Kristy McPherson, Inbee Park, Morgan Pressel and Wendy Ward.

College Success: 24 of the past 32 NCAA Division I men’s champions and 20 of the past 26 NCAA Division I women’s champions are AJGA alumni.

Amateur Success: 21 of the past 26 U.S. Amateur champions and 23 of the past 26 U.S. Women’s Amateur champions are AJGA alumni.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s