Meet our volunteers

Posted on

By Shannon Dudzinski (@AJGAMedia), AJGA Communications

Our tournaments would not be possible without the help from dedicated volunteers. We appreciate their time commitment and enjoy having them at every tournament. Nearly 20 volunteers spent Memorial Day weekend assisting with the AJGA Preview at Château Élan presented by Halski Systems. This Memorial weekend, we got the opportunity to get to know our volunteers a little better.

Harlan Sutandi- Volunteer, ChateauHarlan Sutandi

Years of service: “Two. I volunteered three years ago in 2013.”

Do you play golf? Yes

Have you played the Château Course at Château Élan Golf Club?  If so what’s your favorite hole? “I have played here several times. This is a difficult course, the tee shot on No. 14 is difficult.”

 
What do you look forward to most about these AJGA tournaments? “I love to watch the kids play golf and I wish I could play as well as they do.”

 

Ed Smith, Volunteer, ChateauEd Smith

Years of service: “At least four years ever since my wife [Kellie Smith] started volunteering.”

Do you play golf? “Yeah, I try to. I didn’t start playing until I was 35.”

Have you played the Château Course at Château Élan Golf Club?  If so what’s your favorite hole? “I have played out here. I would say that No. 2 is my favorite hole.”

 
What do you look forward to most about these AJGA tournaments? “I enjoy just seeing the young kids playing and the interns working so it is really nice.”

 

Jerry Abbott, Volunteer, ChateauJerry Abbott

Years of service: “This will be my fourth year.”

Do you play golf? “Yes.”

Have you played the Château Course at Château Élan Golf Club?  If so what’s your favorite hole? “No. 14 is a good hole and is pretty tough.”

 
What do you look forward to most about these AJGA tournaments? “Just watching these youngsters play, glad to see them out here playing instead of sitting around with a computer or doing nothing.”

 

Ned Shanmugham- Volunteer- ChateauNed Shanmugham

Years of service: “I am retired so I just come out here. I have been doing it for the last four years, usually a timing station.”

Do you play golf? “Yes.”

What do you look forward to most about these AJGA tournaments? “I love watching these kids. They are so talented; I wish I could play as well.”

 

 

Kaitlan Ball, Volunteer, ChateauKaitlyn Ball

Years of service: “This is my first time volunteering for this specific event, I was an intern last year and loved the experience. I wanted to come back to volunteer.”

Do you play golf? “No I don’t play, but I will definitely pick it up in the future.”

Have you played the Château Course at Château Élan Golf Club?  If so what’s your favorite hole? “I haven’t played. I do like the golf course design here though.”

 
What do you look forward to most about these AJGA tournaments? “I love volunteering for the AJGA because I think it is an incredible organization that really helps junior golfers get to the next level and it is just a fun time.”

Leave a Reply

