News and Notes: FJ Invitational

Posted on Updated on

Sam Snead cottage (2)

Sam Snead Cottage

Tournament headquarters for the FJ Invitational is in the Sam Snead Cottage. The cottage typically houses Sedgefield members that live out of town, but originally served as the pro shop when the club opened in 1926. The cottage is named after legendary golfer Sam Snead who had 82 PGA TOUR victories and won seven major championships. Snead set the record for the most wins at a single event when he won the Greater Greensboro Open, now the Wyndham Championship, eight times, five of which came at Sedgefield.

Foundation of the ACC

On the morning of May 8, 1953, seven colleges withdrew from the Southern Conference. Later that day, officials from Clemson, Duke, Maryland, North Carolina, North Carolina State, South Carolina and Wake Forest met at Sedgefield Inn to form and draft the bylaws for the Atlantic Coast Conference, making Sedgefield the birthplace of the ACC.  Officials met again at Sedgefield Inn on December 4, 1953, to admit the University of Virginia to the conference. The Sedgefield Inn has since been renovated into the course’s clubhouse, with ACC Headquarters located just over three miles down the road from Sedgefield in Greensboro.

Plaques on wall behind No. 9 (1)

Wall of Champions

Just behind the clubhouse and overlooking the No. 9 green at Sedgefield Country Club is the “Wall of Champions,” where the names of past Wyndham Championship winners are etched into the wall. The Wyndham Championship event began in 1938 and is currently hosted by Sedgefield Country Club, but has previously been played at Forest Oaks Country Club and Starmount Forest Country Club. Notable names on the wall include eight-time winner Sam Snead, Ben Hogan, Gary Player, Seve Ballesteros and former AJGA players Patrick Reed, Webb Simpson, Ryan Moore, Brandt Snedeker, Davis Love III, Jim Gallagher Jr., Mike Springer, Mark Brooks and Ken Green.

Former FJ Players in US Open

Numerous AJGA alumni compete in PGA TOUR events and Major Championships each year. The 2014 US Open at Pinehurst Resort, just 75 miles from Sedgefield, features 31 golfers who previously played in the FJ Invitational as AJGA members. Former FJ Invitational competitors playing in the US Open are Daniel Berger, Zac Blair, Brian Campbell, Roberto Castro, Lucas Bjerregaard, Andrew Dorn, Harris English, Rickie Fowler, Bobby Gates, Luke Guthrie, Russell Henley, Billy Horschel, Smylie Kaufman, Chris Kirk, Kevin Kisner, Brooks Koepka, Scott Langley, Hunter Mahan, Patrick Reed, Robby Shelton, Webb Simpson, Jordan Spieth, Brett Stegmaier ,Hunter Stewart, Hudson Swafford, Justin Thomas, Brendon Todd, Kevin Tway, Cory Whitsett and Cameron Wilson.