New Year, New Faces: Meet the New Hire Class of 2014

Posted on Updated on

By Roseanna Smith, AJGA Communications

It is a new year and we have new faces at the office.

A tradition at the AJGA is to spend a few days celebrating our new employees, and as the culmination of the festivities, it is my honor to introduce you to the official New Hire Class of 2014.

(Editor's note: Our new hire class contains all full-timers who began their employment late in 2013 or at the first of the new year.)

Below we feature 13 employees – across Player Services, Operations, Sponsorship, IT and Communications – all of whom are working together with their departments to make great things happen for the AJGA in #AJGA2014 and beyond.

We hope you’ll have a chance to meet or work with them sometime soon but for now, in true AJGA style, a few fun facts:

Kathleen Adame (3)

Kathleen Adame, Marketing Coordinator; Intern Class of 2013, Operations

Education: University of Oregon

Twitter: @AJGA_U (Editor’s note: Kathleen is the official “voice” for the ‘U’)

Sports claim to fame: Attended the 2011 National Championship and 2013 Fiesta Bowl games to see the Ducks play.

Fun Fact: Believes she can beat Jessica Self (see below) in throwing a football. (Editor’s note: Later we’ll have them test this theory).

Favorite thing about AJGA: The creative atmosphere.

Tony Ausick (2)

Tony Ausick, Tournament Coordinator; Intern Class of 2013, Operations

Education: University of Louisville

Demographic: AJGA alum

Sports claim to fame: I’ve played in the NFL Super Bowl of Golf (representing the Green Bay Packers).

My favorite trip: Service trip to Cebu, Philippines, with the University of Louisville.

Fun fact about you: I am a Packers shareholder.

Chris Ceman (1)

Chris Ceman, Communications Coordinator; Intern Class of 2013, Communications

Education: Arizona State University

Demographic: AJGA alum

Twitter: @AJGACeman – Follow me!

Sports claim to fame: As a 15-year-old, I made it to the semifinals of the RE/MAX World Junior Long Drive Championship.

Fun fact about me: I spent my last semester of college on the Arizona Cardinals sideline helping with NFL Films projects.

Favorite thing about the AJGA: The people. AJGA employees are the most hilarious, hardworking and helpful group of people I could imagine working with. Outside the office, meeting all of the players is a great experience as well.

Ryan Flanagan (2)

Ryan Flanagan, Tournament Coordinator; Intern Class of 2013, Operations

Education: Campbellsville University

Demographic: College golfer / ACE Grant recipient / AJGA alum

Sports claim to fame: Finishing T20 in the 2008 Kentucky High School Athletic Association Golf Championship.

Fun fact: I can play the saxophone.

Favorite thing about the AJGA: Interacting with juniors and spectators throughout the country.

Tim Jackman (13)

Tim Jackman, Communications Coordinator; Intern Class of 2013, Communications

Education: University of South Carolina

Twitter: @AJGAJackman

Sports claim to fame: 2013 Fall Semester Coed Intramural Softball Champion.

Life claim to fame: I am best known for my energy.

Fun fact: I did professional wrestling ring announcing. (Editor’s note: We confirmed he does have a voice for announcing.)

Josh Kalita (2)

Josh Kalita, Tournament Coordinator; Intern Class of 2012, Tournament Assistant, Intern Class of 2011, Operations

Education: Valparaiso University

Demographic: College golfer

Twitter: @Wiz_Kalita (not @wizkhalifa – although, that can be confusing)

Sports Claim to Fame: Other than being the star player on my college intramural basketball team, I was a four-year letter winner in golf and was the team’s assistant coach when we won the 2013 Horizon League Championship.

Life Claim to Fame: Surviving life as a middle child between two sisters (“the rose between two thorns” so to speak – I’m kidding, I love them) OR having a photo that I took as an operations intern be used on the front page of the AJGA website (the 2011 Natural Resources Partners Bluegrass Junior check presentation picture).

Favorite thing about the AJGA: Watching the juniors tear it up on the course, seeing new golf courses, and talking with college coaches.

Dexter Martin (2)

Dexter Martin, Senior Vice President, Information Technology

Education: South Carolina State University

Sports claim to fame: Awarded a full college track scholarship as a sprinter.

Life claim to fame: I work as a nutrition coach to help people change their lives.

Number of states left to visit: 10.

Favorite thing about the AJGA: The energy of the staff and the corporate culture.

Pat Plank (6)

Patrick Plank, Tournament Coordinator; Intern Class of 2013, Operations

Education: University of Wisconsin – Madison

Twitter: @PSqwared

Sports claim to fame: Two-time NCAA Men’s Track & Field Championship qualifier (400 hurdles, sixth all-time in University of Wisconsin history).

Life claim to fame: My artistic talents and fun personality (Editor’s note: You’ll see some of Pat’s works in an upcoming edition of The Insider.)

Travel diary: I have visited five countries outside of the U.S.

Fun fact about me: I was almost on the MTV show “The Real World”.

Andrew Polonec' (7)

Andrew Polonec, Tournament Coordinator; Intern Class of 2013, Operations

Education: University of Wisconsin – LaCrosse

Twitter: @Andrew_Polonec

Sports claim to fame: During high school baseball, I hit my first and only career grand slam in the last game, during my last at-bat, as a senior. I still have the ball. We still lost the game.   

Life claim to fame: I grew up on a dairy farm. I am an expert cow milker.

Number of states I’ve visited: 29, plus Washington D.C. and Canada. Not bad for never traveling by plane until I was 21.

Alyssa Randolph (3)

Alyssa Randolph, Tournament Coordinator; Intern Class of 2013, Tournament Assistant, Intern Class of 2012, Operations

Education: University of Mississippi

Demographic: College golfer / AJGA alum

Sports claim to fame: Played college golf for Ole Miss.

Number of states you have left to visit: 11. Hopefully I can make it out to the Dakotas and Montana in the near future.

Fun fact about you: I can balance a spoon on my nose for long amounts of time while doing other things (i.e.: reading, eating).

Crystal Reeves (2)

Crystal Reeves, Regional Manager, Midwest; Spring Intern Class of 2013, Operations

Education: Texas A&M University & Oral Roberts University

Demographic: College golfer / ACE Grant recipient / AJGA alum

Twitter: @CNReeves54

Sports claim to fame: Set the record (66) at two courses: Bailey Ranch (Owasso, Okla.) and Lake Hefner (Oklahoma City, Okla.).

Favorite trip and why: When I was 15, I qualified to play in the [now named] Nature Valley First Tee Open at Pebble Beach where I had the opportunity to meet Champions Tour players and celebrities including Arnold Palmer, Bill Murray and George Lopez.

Fun fact: I have written music since I was 11. I love to sing and play the guitar!

Jessica Self (4)J

Jessica Self, Tournament Administration Coordinator; Intern Class of 2103, Operations and Player Services

Education: University of Georgia

Twitter handle: @jm_self

Sports claim to fame: I have bowled a 287. Yes, my sports claim to fame is in bowling.

Travel diary: I visited Illinois, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Missouri, Wisconsin, Ohio, Kentucky, Texas and Iowa just from doing the AJGA internship! It is amazing how much the internship has to offer and all the places you get to see.

Fun fact: With two brothers who were quarterbacks,I can throw a football 25 yards (maybe more on a good day).

Kellie Smith (2)

Kellie Smith, Member Services Coordinator; Intern Class of 2012, 2013, Player Services

Education: Brenau University

Sports claim to fame: Diving off the bow of a cruise ship.

Life claim to fame: Voted friendliest in my high school class.

Travel diary: Wyoming is the only state I haven’t visited. I have lived in Ankara, Turkey, and Dubai, UAE, for a total of 11 years.

Fun fact: I have more than 40,000 followers on Pinterest(Editor’s note: If the AJGA ever decides to start a Pinterest account, you’ll know who’s in charge of it…and she actually almost has 41K.)