Wyndham Cup: History Behind the Cup

Posted on Updated on

By Katie Jordan, AJGA Communications

The Wyndham Cup has been bringing together the top 40 junior
golfers in the country for 24 years. This prestigious match play event sets the
40 top-ranked boy and girl junior golfers from the East and the West (divided
by the Mississippi River) to compete for more than just bragging rights.

24 Years and Counting
This unique event started in 1990
at Lake Nona Golf Club in Orlando, Fla. Since then, the tournament has been
held at a different course each year. Only two courses have hosted the
competition more than once: The Honors Course in Ooltewah, Tenn., in 1995 and
2007 and Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mill, Md., in 1997 and 2004. The 2013
Wyndham Cup, hosted by The Bridges at Rancho Santa Fe, is only the sixth time
the tournament has been held in the west. It was last held in the west in 2009
when the Forest Highlands Golf Club in Flagstaff, Ariz., hosted the tournament
on the Canyon Course. The east has hosted this event 17 times since its

The Same but Different
The Wyndham Cup has kept the same
format since 1990. The first two days consist of four-ball matches and mixed
foursomes. On the final day, juniors play singles matches to determine the cup

Until 2010, the Wyndham Cup match
play tournament was called the Canon Cup. In 2011, the AJGA partnered with
Wyndham Worldwide to begin supporting this marquee event.  The first Wyndham Cup was played at
Eagle Point Golf Club in Wilmington, N.C., and has continued to be one of the
most anticipated events of the summer. 

Back for More
The 2013 teams have a total of 11
juniors that are making return appearances to the Wyndham Cup, five for the
East Team and six for the West Team. Additionally, many professional golfers
have participated in the Wyndham Cup on both sides. Stewart Cink, Matt Kuchar,
Charles Howell III, Cristie Kerr and Morgan Pressel all played for the East
Team. Pros that played for the West Team include Tiger Woods, Hunter Mahan, Jordan
Spieth, Rickie Fowler, Grace Park and Paula Creamer.

Spieth, Jordan putting
Jordan Spieth sizing up a putt at the 2008 Canon Cup.

Cup for Grabs
The East Team retained the Cup at
the 2012 Wyndham Cup, however the all-time win record goes to the West Team.
The West has tallied 12 wins, nine losses and two ties, while the East Team
holds an overall record 9-12-2. The largest margin of victory belongs to the
East Team, who won by 14 points (32-18) in both 1990 and 2011.