Excerpts from Steve Marino’s address at Under Armour® / Steve Marino Championship

Posted on Updated on

Opening Statement…

“First of all, I’d like to welcome you all here to the tournament. This is a pretty cool experience for me. I grew up around this area and played a bunch of AJGA events, but we never really had one in the D.C. area. It’s pretty special for me to be here, especially with my name on the tournament. To be able to give back — it means a lot to me. I just want to thank all you guys for coming and playing.

On sharing a connection with AJGA alums on the PGA and LPGA tours…

“Time flies by so fast. I remember when I was your age and being there with guys like Lucas Glover, Jonathan Byrd, D.J. Trahan, Hunter Mahan – I grew up with all of those guys. It’s amazing to see how many guys I played junior golf with that are now on the PGA TOUR with me.”

On his favorite memories from AJGA…

“Back when I played, the AJGA was smaller than it is now — it has kind of exploded with tournaments all the time — it was mainly a summer thing. I remember it being a huge deal for me in the summer. I was always excited for school to end so I could play golf all day, everyday. Also, there used to be a state team championship. Each state fielded a team, and our team won – I think we beat Georgia – and I won individually. It was the only tournament I ever won as an individual.”

On preparing for college golf through the AJGA…

“When you guys graduate high school and go to college, you are going to see a lot of the same faces at the college tournaments you go to. I went to [the University of] Virginia, an ACC school, so we had a pretty good conference. A lot of the guys I grew up playing junior golf with are still right there with you. The AJGA definitely prepares you. When you get to college, you’ll see these guys aren’t as good as you think they are. You’re probably pretty close to being college level right now.”

On his dream foursome…

“It’d be Jack Nicklaus, Ben Hogan and probably Tiger Woods. I think those guys were probably the three best ever, so that’d be a pretty sweet foursome. They’d have to be in their prime though – Hogan from the 50s, Nicklaus from the 60s and Tiger from the early 2000s.”

On playing with Tom Watson in the third-round leader group at the 2009 British Open…

“It was an unbelievable experience. I was tied for the lead with Tom Watson and playing in the final round at the British Open on Saturday and that guy is like a god over there. He’s won five British Opens and all the Scottish people love him so much. Watching him play – he was 59 at the time – was unbelievable. We had 30 mph winds all day and I’m aiming 70 yards left trying to ride the ball back into the fairway, and this old man is hitting it straight down the middle every time. Probably the loudest roar I’ve ever heard in my career was when he made a 50 footer for birdie on 16. There were so many people there who just erupted; it made the hair on the back of my neck stand up. That was definitely an experience I’ll never forget.”

Marino QA FB

Steve Marino appeared in eight AJGA events and was an honorable mention Rolex Junior All-American in 1997. He has 21 PGA TOUR top 10 finishes.

Leave a Reply

