Shih collects golf balls for a worthy cause

Posted on Updated on

At every AJGA event, all players in the field receive a dozen Titleist golf balls. At the Genesis Junior at White Beeches, one player did his best to give golf balls away.

IMG_8575

 

After reading a letter on golf.com, Harrison Shih of Saddle River, N.J., made it his mission to support the troops in the best way he can.

“I read a letter from a staff sergeant stationed in Afghanistan talking about how he and his company like to relax by hitting golf balls into the mine fields outside of the base,” Shih said. “Obviously it is too dangerous for them to retrieve them, so he asked for a donation of used golf balls.”

Shih saw the Genesis Junior at White Beeches as an opportunity to amplify the impact from junior golfers by asking his fellow competitors in the field to participate.

“I’m not involved in any charities, but I figured that this one would be good because it is right up my alley,” Shih said. “This is something worthwhile that I wanted to get other people involved in. I got the members of my home club involved with it and I knew that this event was coming up.”

Shih encourages other players to realize that their used golf balls can serve a worthwhile purpose.

“I’ve got a bunch of golf balls just lying around the house, and I know that a lot of the other players in the field do as well,” Shih said. “I never know what to do with my old golf balls, because I don’t want to throw them away. So, I figured that this would be a good way to get them off of my hands while helping out the troops and supporting a good cause."

At the end of a competitive week at White Beeches Golf & Country Club, Shih was excited about the generous donations from his fellow-competitors.

“At the practice round, I was given two five-gallon buckets filled to the top with Titleist Pro-V1s and some really good golf balls,” Shih said. “I know another player donated about 60 golf balls by himself.

This is my first attempt at this project, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was hoping that it would be successful, and I’ve been proud of the support it has received. I can’t even imagine the stressful nature of being in Afghanistan. They do so much for us that the least we can do is give them our used golf balls.”

Over the course of the week, players at the Genesis Junior at White Beeches donated 1,200 golf balls, which Shih and his family will ship to Afghanistan.

To read Staff Sergeant Brandon Michael Edwards’s letter, and for more information on donating to this worthwhile cause, please visit the golf.com blog.

-Written by Andrew LeSaicherre, AJGA Communications

One thought on “Shih collects golf balls for a worthy cause

    inkjet printer cartridge said:
    February 6, 2012 at 1:33 am

    I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commentters here!Keep writing.Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

