AJGA Players and Alumni at the U.S. Am

Posted on Updated on

The 64-player match play bracket has been set at the U.S. Amateur, and Wednesday’s first round includes 47 AJGA players or alumni. Among the notable qualifiers:

  • DMcCarthy Six current AJGA members (No. 2 Patrick Cantlay, No. 3 Patrick Rodgers, No. 5 Justin Thomas, No. 27 Cheng Tsung Pan, No. 30 Denny McCarthy [pictured right] and No. 59 Emiliano Grillo)
  • Two former Rolex Junior Players of the Year (No. 28 Cameron Peck and No. 38 Peter Uihlein)
  • Two members of Augusta State’s 2010 National Scott LangleyChampionship team (No. 24 Patrick Reed and No. 61 Carter Newman)
  • No. 56 Scott Langley – 2010 NCAA men’s golf individual champion [pictured right]
  • No. 44 Byeong-hun An – Defending U.S. Amateur champion
  • No. 20 Harris English – 2010 first-team Golfweek All-American (University of Georgia)

Since 1985, 20 of the last 25 U.S. Amateur champions have been AJGA alumni. Follow the USGA’s live scoring to see if that trend can continue in 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s