Medalists Set Tournament Course Records in Philly

Posted on Updated on

The K12 Qualifier for the CorseMax/Philadelphia Runner Junior, held at Penn Oaks Golf Club Sunday, August 8, was quite an eventful affair. Tournament course records were broken by both medalists and one of the medalists didn’t know he would be competing until the morning of the qualifier.

Mason Short of Waldorf, Md., was entered into the qualifier field thanks to a withdrawal in the hours leading up to the shotgun. He ended up coming out and getting two quick birdies on Nos. 7 and 9 en route to a 5-under-par round of 66, a course record.

“I drove up today, thinking I wasn’t going to play,” Short said. “If I didn’t get into the event, my dad and I were just going to hang around Philadelphia. I’m excited that I actually get to play in the tournament.”

Elizabeth Tong of Thornhill, Ontario, had an equally eventful day. She was competing in her first AJGA event and carded an even-par 71 which was also a course record for girls. She had six birdies on the day.

“I was excited, but really nervous because this was my first AJGA event,” Tong said. “After No. 6 I felt like I was going to have a good day. I hit my approach shot to about a foot and tapped in for birdie. I made three birdies right after that.”

philly

Congratulations to Short and Tong on their record-breaking performances.

 

Blog submitted by Jessica Souto, AJGA Summer Staff

Leave a Reply

