Hunting for a Victory and Records in Huntsville

Posted on Updated on

Talley, Emma[1]
Second at the AJGA Junior at Quad Cities (losing in a playoff), first at Natural Resource Partners Bluegrass Junior, a top-10 finish in both the Rolex Tournament of Champions and the Exide Technologies Junior Open and a top-15 finish at the Thunderbird International Junior.

And oh yeah…..she has a 14-stroke lead heading into the final round of this week’s AJGA Huntsville Junior presented by The Huntsville Athletic Club.

Not a bad year so far and Talley shows no sign of slowing down.

“I want to keep going,” Talley said. “I’ve had a good day and I’ve had a good week, so hopefully it stays with me.”

Talley shot a 4-under-par 67 in the first round of the tournament and in the second round carded a 5-under par 66, and it could have been lower.

“I even missed a few putts out there today. I missed a couple of eight footers, probably three or four that I could have made, but I’m not going to make every one of them.”

To get into the tournament, Talley qualified in the K12 qualifier at RTJ Golf Trail at Hampton Cove – River Course by shooting a 6-under-par 66.

“I was kind of nervous,” Talley said. “I was more nervous at the qualifier than I was here [at The Ledges].”

With a 14-stroke lead a couple of AJGA records are on the line. If Talley shoots a 66 or better, she will break the lowest 54-hole total in a girls tournament [200].

Talley also has the chance to tally the largest margin of victory in an AJGA event. The records are as follows: the largest winning margin in an AJGA event is 18, which occurred in a 36-hole event. The largest margin of victory in a 54-hole event is 16.

All records aside, there is still one round to play and Talley is following that old cliché.

“I just have to play one shot at a time and stay in my game and not do anything stupid,” Talley said.

The final round of the AJGA Huntsville Junior presented by The Huntsville Athletic Club will be Thursday, July 15. Tee times will run from 7 am – 12:10 pm.
 

-Written by Sean Hirshberg, AJGA Communications

Leave a Reply

