Sitting Down With Bobby Wyatt

Posted on Updated on

Mobile, Ala., native Bobby Wyatt, who is ranked second in the Polo Golf Rankings, stopped by the AJGA Junior at Steelwood presented by AT&T to take part in the Junior Amateur with his best friend and player in this week’s field Wilson McDonald, also of Mobile. Wyatt took some time to sit down with me and talk a little bit about his upcoming summer and to reflect on his time with the AJGA.

Playing with his best friend from home was a lot of fun for Wyatt. “[William] played great,” Wyatt said. “I have played with him almost every day of my life; we had a great time out there.”
Wyatt was excited about his last summer before starting college at the University of Alabama in the fall.

 

JAM Winners_Bobby Wyatt

“I’m going to Japan [later on in] June and that takes up pretty much all of the month,” Wyatt explained. “I am trying to rest up for it. I am also doing the US Junior Qualifier, the Dogwood and Southern Amateur and the US Junior. My state junior will be my last tournament.”

Recently, Wyatt was honored at the HP Byron Nelson Championship with the Byron Nelson International Junior Golf Award with fellow junior golfers Jordan Spieth and Yaroslav Merkulov.

“It was a tremendous honor to receive an award like that. It is an honor to be mentioned in the same sentence as [Byron Nelson],” Wyatt said. “It was also fun that Jordan [Spieth] played so well, I was really happy for him.”

Wyatt was also able to take some time to reflect on his experience with the AJGA over the past six seasons.

“The AJGA has done a lot for me,” Wyatt said. “It is what gets you college exposure and really got my name out. The tournaments are great and the competition is the best juniors in the country. It has really helped me to become the golfer that I am.”

Wyatt has a very busy summer, but he is well prepared for what the future holds.

Submitted by Jessica Souto

Leave a Reply

